SVN Version Rollback
When we want to discard changes to a file, we can use theSVN revertcommand.
The svn revert operation will undo any local changes in a file or directory.
We modify the file readme and check the file status.
root@example:~/svn/example01/trunk# svn status M readme
At this point we find the modification is wrong and want to undo it. Use svn revert to restore the file readme to its unmodified state.
root@example:~/svn/example01/trunk# svn revert readme Reverted 'readme'
Check the status again.
root@example:~/svn/example01/trunk# svn status root@example:~/svn/example01/trunk#
After performing the revert operation, the readme file is restored to its original state. The revert operation can restore not only a single file, but also an entire directory. To restore a directory, use the -R command, as follows.
svn revert -R trunk
But what if we want to restore an already committed version?
To eliminate an old version, we must undo all changes in the old version and then commit a new version. This operation is called a reverse merge.
First, find the current revision of the repository. It is now revision 22. We want to roll back to a previous revision, for example revision 21.
svn merge -r 22:21 readmeOther Extensions